Tags

, , , , , , ,

NBA-2K14-Wallpaper-620x387

Nba 2k14 has just been released on pc, and after playing a couple of games I wanted to share my first impression of the game.

Being just a “FIRST IMPRESSION” it’s nowhere near a complete review, I’ll try to dig deeper in the game in the following weeks.

So far the 2 things that caught my attention above everything else are graphics (frame rate in particular) and the music selection.

Nba 2k14 on max settings runs MUCH BETTER than Nba 2k13 on max settings. The frame rate is much higher and the game is extremely fluid, a joy to play and watch. Aesthetically I haven’t noticed any major jaw dropping changes, most of the menus and options are the same. Minor changes and a huge fps improvement: good job 2K Games.

Music has always been the worst part of every Nba 2kx title for me. This year there’s a huge variety:

Big Krit – “Cool 2 be Southern”
Cris Cab – “Paradise (On Earth)”
Coldplay – “Lost!”
Daft Punk (feat. Pharrell Williams), – “Get Lucky”
Drake – “Started From The Bottom”
Eminem – “Not Afraid”
Fly Union – “Long Run”
Gorillaz – “Clint Eastwood”
Imagine Dragons – “Radioactive”
Jada Kiss (feat. Ayanna Irish) – “Can’t Stop Me”
Jay Z – “The Ruler’s Back”
John Legend (feat. Rick Ross) – “Who Do We Think We Are”
Kanye West – “All Of The Lights”
Kendrick Lamar – “Now Or Never”
Macklemore & Ryan Lewis (feat. Ray Dalton) – “Can’t Hold Us”
Nas (feat. Puff Daddy) – “Hate Me Now”
Phil Collins – “In The Air Tonight”
Robin Thicke (feat. Pharrell) – “Blurred Lines”
The Black Keys – “Elevator”
The Black Keys – “Howlin’ For You”

I cannot say I enjoy ALL of that, but I know what I hate, and I don’t hate ALL of that. This year I MIGHT listen to the in-game music.

Commentary and sound effects are top level as usual.

A couple of hiccups:

BLOODY. UNSKIPPABLE. PRESS. CONFERENCE. AGAIN. I need to find out if there’s a way to AT LEAST SKIP THE DIALOGUE, ffs.

And again, even if I set up the game to have NO replays of any sort, it still happens. Not game breaking, but annoying.

On the other hand, a problem that often killed my enjoyment SEEMS to be disappeared: players and referees getting stuck with the ball during a free throw or a side ball. I hope I won’t encounter those bugs again, so far so good.

Basic controls feel very familiar but there are many new special moves.

Gameplay! Defense is a lot more efficient, not in a overwhelming way, but it’s a bit easier (and effective) to contest shots, and blocks feel powerful. My first block in the rookie showcase shocked me compared to 2k13, as my player sent the ball flying away with a loud SLAP on the ball, followed by the crowd cheering, pretty good stuff. Rebounding works a lot better as well.

Coaches are still tards: leading by 10 after scoring 6 points and grabbing 4 boards I got sent to the bench even if I was at 80% stamina. Get back in the game and our team is trailing by 14. We cut the deficit back to 4….benched again for no apparent, and my next appearance on the field is at the beginning of the 4th quarter, down by over 20. COME ON.

During the next few days I’ll spend a few more hours on My Career and I’ll write a more in depth review, but so far there are no major complaints, and the frame rate improvement alone is huge.

