Tags

, , , , , ,

Sidelake Walk

 

This picture is a composition dilemma for me. While I was walking there I really liked the scene: the pathway on the right, lake on the centre/left and colorful winter leaves on the left. I cropped part of the top and I liked the “wide angle feel” of the picture. The problem is the tree on the bottom left.

Cutting out the bottom part of the picture would make the pathway look very short, while cropping the left side of the picture would mean removing a lot of color, as most of the leaves are located in that area.

After trying many different alternatives, I decided to keep the tree inside the picture. One man alone cannot fight against the will of Mother Nature. Moreover, paintshopping the whole area to recreate a colorful leafy background to replace the tree is something that I’d only do under contract.

