Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Check out the original post for the full size pic: https://randomibis.wordpress.com/2014/01/03/taiwan-a-picture-a-day-ren-shan-botanical-garden/

This picture is from the Ren Shan Botanical Garden in Yilan County, not too far from Taipei. The location is very close to Plum Blossom Lake, in fact I went in both places on the same day. The word “Shan” in Chinese means mountain, and getting there by bicycle took much longer than coming back, but it was a pretty easy ride nonetheless.

The reason why they’re called Botanic Gardens is that scattered around a mountain there are many, beautiful gardens created following different styles, such as an English garden, a French garden and more, and the architecture of the buildings follows the style of the garden itself. There are also many natural paths that let you explore the whole area, one of them leads to a waterfall that I still need to see. And it’s also possible to meet monkeys while walking around. It was the first time ever for me to see a monkey in the wild, and they didn’t try to throw poo at me. I consider that a success.

I took many pictures that day  but this stone stairway leading into a forest was by far my favorite. If you’ve been following me for a while you may have noticed that I really like to include roads, lanes or natural paths in my pictures. They’re something that always gets my attention, and capturing them in a picture gives a great sense of depth. The stairs fading inside the forest in the distance and the tree in the foreground almost working as an entry arch meant that it was time to set up my tripod, I could not ask for a better composition.

This picture introduced me to some new friends: chromatic aberrations. It took me a bit to figure out how to fix the CAs of my new lens, but that’s something I’ll discuss more in depth in my “The Making of”.

