Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Original picture here: https://randomibis.wordpress.com/2014/01/07/taiwan-a-picture-a-day-7th-of-january-anping-tree-house/

What a special place. The Anping Tree House was originally a warehouse, but after the second world war it was abandoned and a tree decided to reclaim that place.  The plant is a giant banyan, a variety of fig tree that when left alone in the right climatic conditions will just keep growing, and growing, and growing….and that’s what it did.

The picture that I took is just a small detail in the interior. In the future I’ll upload some more shots of the whole building to give you an idea of the sheer size of that tree. The city government did an amazing job: not long ago they built a structure that lets visitors walk inside the warehouse up to the roof, and that where it’s really possible to appreciate the work done by that tree in just a bit over half a century.

The warehouse now belongs to him, and if you pass by Tainan make sure to give him a visit (there’s also a nice museum next to the Anping Tree House).

On a side note, this is one of my oldest pictures, taken with my Sony Nex C3. Hopefully I’ll manage to get back to my tree-friend with my new D7100 during this year.

