Tags

, , , , , , ,

Original post and picture here

There’s quite a bit to write about this picture. And it won’t be the story behind the Goddess Mazu, that’s something you can easily check out by yourself on Wikipedia and I cannot add anything interesting to that.

This is a picture that I took in a very famous temple on the east coast of Taiwan, in Nan Fang Ao. It was the first time for me to take this kind of picture because very often the people who serve the temple don’t want tourists to take pictures, and not because they want to sell you merchandising as it happens in almost every famous church in the world, but because they see it as an act of disrespect. If you ever go to Taiwan and see an interesting temple, the best thing that you can do is to ask for permission to take pictures.

In this temple cameras are allowed, so I took quite a few shots on 2 of the 3 floors. I quietly walked away from the third one because there were quite a lot of people praying and I preferred not to bother them.

The statue in the picture is made of jade, and on the last floor of temple there’s a very similar statue made of gold. More pictures will come over the next week.

Last Saturday I’ve had the chance to enjoy some amazing weather in Yilan and I did a 40kms tour to Nan Fang Ao to enjoy the seaside.

Nan Fang Ao

 

It’s a nice end of January, and it looks like the good weather will lead us to the Chinese New Year.

