Tags

, , , , ,

The Chinese New Year is an amazing time to enjoy Taiwan. Parties behind every corner, absurd amounts of food, crowded markets and fireworks all help to make this period something really special.

From a photography point of view it can be a nightmare, because there are so many different opportunities and situations where you can use your camera that you either carry a bag full of lenses with you or you try to rely on a few chosen ones.

I recently got a Sigma 17-70 Contemporary and this Chinese New Year was his agoge.

The first night of the celebration I headed to the local Art Workshop to enjoy the city hall party and I got a couple of shots that I enjoyed a lot. One of them completely out of luck, while the other had a bit of thought behind it.

The lucky shot was this one:

NY Celebration

 

During a dancing show there were a few seconds during which the performers would stay still with their body and wave their arms. When you take this kind of picture you usually have to choose between:

a) A very sharp picture that freezes the movement

b) A picture that shows the flow of the performance but may be a bit soft due to slow shutter speed

I managed to get the best of both worlds out of pure luck, and I cannot complain about that.

The second shot that I’ve really liked from that evening is the flip:

Flip

 

This one required some preparation. The first time they did this move I thought:”Wow, that was cool, too bad I missed it!”. After a few minutes I noticed a repeating pattern in their performance and I thought that there could have been a chance to see it again. I set up my camera with a high shutter speed and I tried to wait for the right moment. I NEVER “spray and pray”, so I never shoot bursts of 5-8-10 pictures hoping that one of them will look the way I want. I took the shoot when the body of the guy up in the air was in a vertical position and I got exactly the shot I was looking for.

It’s not as sharp as I was looking for, but considering that I was using a standard zoom in the night I’m 100% satisfied.

