Tags

, , , ,

IMG_3909DxO-2

This is the sunset we’ve just had in Yilan. Typhoon Nepartak was at first supposed to be a fairly weak event headed in direction of Japan. Eventually, it turned to be an extremely strong typhoon, currently category 5, headed directly in our direction.

Landfall is expected to be tomorrow (Thursday, 7th of July) in the evening. Wind and rain should be at their peak during the night, which is extremely annoying as eletric power is usually cut off during typhoons in this area.

Here’s a quick video I took of the wind coming from the sea, the East is at my back here. I plan to make some video recording of the “main event”, but since it’s set to make landfall during the night it will be very hard to record something. A typhoon during the night means complete darkness.

I expect to be able to take pictures and videos until the first few hours past sunset tomorrow, then I’ll see what I can do. I might have to wait until the first light of the day to make some more videos.

Nepartak’s trajectory is not set in stone yet, here we’re still hoping it will slightly steer to the south, sparing us from the area of stronger winds.

 

