Tags

, ,

I’m definitely getting older. I mean, I’ve always known this, but this week for the first time my body clearly reminded me of this.

When I was a teenager I used to play basket for 3/4 hours a days at least 4 times a week. I stopped after a nasty back injury, but after going through some long rehab I was able to get back to decent health.

Now I spend most of my training time riding a bicycle, and while I’m not slim by any stretch of the imagination I’m in a reasonable shape.

Well, last week I decided to pump some air in my basketball and head to the local sport park to spend some time shooting. I’ve had a great time, I haven’t been playing basketball for a long time and the first 20/25 minutes were a bit embarassing. My shot was sooo off, I couldn’t believe it. Then I started to warm up, got comfortable with the bank and I’ve started to feel much better. I was also able to move quite far away from the basket and keep hitting them, it was a glorious moment for me.

Then, the morning after came. When I woke up I could barely walk due to knee pain. And it was clearly not some kind of muscle ache, I know them very well, there was something wrong going on in the ligaments. It took me a day of full rest and hot packs to get back to walking properly. It sucked so hard.

After a couple of days I tried again to head to the sport park, this time skipping completely any sort of jumping or running and focusing on just shooting. My knees were in a better shape than the first time, but they were still in pain.

And then it hit me: I’m not young anymore. It looks like my years of health issues took a toll on my body, especially on my knees. When I had my back injury I went from 75kg to 120kg in jless than 3 years, and it took me 5 years to get back in the low 80s. For some reason my legs are completely fine when it comes to cycling, but jumping and running making direct, hard contact to the ground is a no-no.

I think I’ll go to the sport park again every now and then, but I have to face and accept my current limitations. It was a sad revelation, but eventually it had to happen.

This issue is also the erason why this week I haven’t posted any new pictures, I was planning to make a Taipei trip and attend the Water games in my region, but the conditions of my knees suggested that I should have had some extra rest.

Hopefully this week I’ll make up for the lost time.

Of course, mandatory GoFundMe link for my cycling book project: https://www.gofundme.com/2czw6wqk

Funding so far is not going too well, but I’m not in a rush. I need to stay positive and keep my fingers crossed.

