Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Lunch Time

Lunch Time

Lunch Time

Lunch Time

Each year rice fields are harvested twice. The first time is to pick up the rice, the second time is to remove a plant that grows on the fields and fills them with nutrients, granting a good harvest for the following year.
Birds love harvest time, as the wet soil is moved by tractors and all kinds of worms and insects become easy prey for them. It’s very common to see flocks of these birds chasing tractors all over the region.

Fun fact: they’re absolutely comfortable next to a noisy tractor, but they’re scared of humans at 5/10 meters away. It’s really odd. I mean, I can see why they like tractors (FOOD), but no one hunts them or push them away. They only eat insects, worms and other things that hang around on rice fields, so farmers don’t really mind about them. No idea why they’re scared of people.

All images shot with Olympus e-m10 and 40-150 R lens. I wonder why they look oversharpened here and on Flickr, I’ve not added any sharpening to the images.

I’m still very short on my GoFundMe project: https://www.gofundme.com/2czw6wqk so nay help sharing it will be hugely appreciated.

 

