Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

A Sunday in Taipei, yay!

Strolling in Taipei

I always find interesting stuff to photograph in “Skydragon city” (that’s just a nickname though, not the literal translation of the name Taipei).

Strolling in Taipei

My list of interesting things may be heavily skewed by the fact that I live in the countryside. This means that for me high mountains surrounded engulfed in mist are a daily sight, while skyscrapers and cityscapes are harder to find.

Strolling in Taipei

Personal note regarding that bike: I’ve been attracted by this one mostly for the contrast in the bright frame color and the rusty chain. I have a side-project where I want to “hunt” abandoned bicycles left around the region and take a last picture of them. There are plenty of those in Yilan, and seing a rusty abandoned bike always makes me sad.

Strolling in Taipei

My trip to Taipei was not just to casually walk around, I actually did some shopping. I went to my favorite camera store Big camera and got a Panasonic 25mm f1.7.

Strolling in Taipei

Most of the images that show up in this post were taken with that lens. A nice warm up! So far I’ve been very happy with the image quality and the autofocus speed. I’ve only recently jumped into M43, so it’s ncie to finally have a lens with a fast aperture, as my other lenses for this system are fairly slow zooms.

Strolling in Taipei

The 12-50 is still my go-to walk around lens because it’s just too versatile. A full frame equivalent range of 24-100mm is fairly convenient, but what sets it apart for me is the macro feature.

Strolling in Taipei

Strolling in Taipei

It’s not a “real macro lens”, in the sense that it doesn’t offer a 1:1 magnification. But being able to focus extremely close with the lens set at 43mm allows for some semi-macro pictures, which means I don’t really need to buy and carry with me a designed macro lens just for some occasional pictures.

Strolling in Taipei

Back to the Panny lens, I’m a bit surprised by the fact that it’s much bigger than my Canon 50mm f1.8, I was really wishing it would have been more compact. At least it comes with a hood, unlike 99% of Olympus lenses.

Strolling in Taipei

I’m sorry Olympus, but I won’t buy a 30/40/50$ hood for your lenses when I can get a 4$ one online. Plase, include a hood in your lenses, they’re optically great and if Chinese manufacturers can make a profit off 4$ for a small piece of plastic, I’m pretty sure you can afford to include one in your boxes.

Strolling in Taipei

Anyway, enough ranting. I’ve been a real “foreigner in Taipei” today. I had a sandwich for breakfast, McDonald’s for lunch and an Ikea hot dog as an afternoon snack. I was really glad to find that McDonald’s green tea has no sugar! Sugary drinks make my belly feel uncomfortable.

Strolling in Taipei

I also run into a soon-to-be-married couple and their friends, surrounded by a whole crew of photographers.

Strolling in Taipei

The girl in high heels didn’t look particularly impressed by the imminent jumpig shoot.

Strolling in Taipei

Strolling in Taipei

Strolling in Taipei

Next on my shopping list: Panasonic 42.5 f1.7. I’m basically recreating on M43 the same setup I carry with me with Canon, so a wide zoom, 50mm, 85mm and a long zoom. I’m only missing a really wide zoom for M43, but none of those currently on the market really excite me.

Next weekend I’ll have a trip to the opposite side of Taiwan, destination; Sun Moon lake. I’ve already been there twice and it has always rained. Hopefully third time’s the charm/ please?

All images in this post were shot with Olympus E-M10mkII, and either Panasonic 25mm f1.7 or Olympus 12-50mm. For full size images and exif details head to my Flickr page:  https://www.flickr.com/photos/107755637@N06/

I’m still very short on my GoFundMe project: https://www.gofundme.com/2czw6wqk so nay help sharing it will be hugely appreciated.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

