Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Ho Chi Minh City

I’ve spent a few days in Ho Chi Minh city. I have to admit I was not expecting Vietnam to look anything like what I experienced.

Ho Chi Minh City

HCM is a city that has been turned into a European/American tourist destination. Hotels, restaurants and food/handcraft markets are behind each corner of the central district, a strong contrast compared to the outer areas of the city.

Ho Chi Minh City

Ho Chi Minh City

Ho Chi Minh City

Ho Chi Minh City

Ho Chi Minh City

Ho Chi Minh City

Ho Chi Minh City

In order to avoid a single post with tons of pictures, I’ll upload images over the course of a few days, trying to sort them out by theme/location. Meanwhile, feel free to check out my Flickr page for the whole set: https://www.flickr.com/photos/107755637@N06/

It was definitely a surprising trip for me, I was not expecting Vietnam to be like that at all. To be fair though, i’ve only been to HCM city, which is apparently the most European styled/tourist location in the whole country. On my next trip I’ll make sure to visit the center/north of the country, to hopefully get a more “traditional” look of what it looks like.

While I’ve had a great trip and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay there, I’m more interested in the traditional look and feel of a country when I visit it for the first time, so being surrounded by 80+% of people who are either from Europe or America is slightly off putting.

All images were shot with Olympus E-M10mkII (and several lenses).

My GoFundMe campaign: https://www.gofundme.com/2czw6wqk

I’m starting to work on my Travel Guide to Taiwan. I’m planning to make separate guides for each major region, starting of course from Yilan County. Making these guides will be my main focus during the coming months, so it would be greatly appreciated if you could share my Go Fund Me link with others.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

