Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

I’ve recently acquired this new gadget. It’s a lens that will attach to the front of other lenses and allow to take extreme closeup shots above 1x magnification with almost any lens.

It has a learning curve, though. Using a 125mm lens it’s possible to reach 1x magnification. At 300mm it’s close to 2.7x, and taking pictures handheld becomes a nightmare. Also, depth of field becomes painfully thin. In order to get enough stuff in focus I was forced to shoot at really small apertures, requiring some extra light. Ideally, I’d need a tripod for the camera and a light stand for the flash. My only test subject was my purple flower in the balcony. There was no way to setup all that gear in my tiny balcony, so I placed a small LED light near the flower and used the camera handheld.

Testing the Raynox 250

Testing the Raynox 250

Testing the Raynox 250

 

Testing the Raynox 250

Testing the Raynox 250

Testing the Raynox 250

Testing the Raynox 250

Testing the Raynox 250

In December it’s hard to find flowers around here, and bugs are not very common as well. It’s a good time to get used to this new gadget, though. My plan is to get used to focus stacking and post processing, which is the only part of the macro-workflow I’m not familiar with at all.

Considering how tiny this flower is, and the fact that I was shooting handheld, i’m fairly happy with the results. Still a lot of room for improvement, of course.

 

 

 

 

 

