Tags

, , , , , , ,

Winter critters

During the weekend I hiked/climbed one of the highest mountains in the Northern part of the Yilan region. Winter in a tropical country is fairly mild (apart from the 3000m+ mountains in the center of Taiwan), but temperatures can still reach fairly low points.

A thing that on a clear day can be seen even from sea level is the different vegetation that starts to frow above a certain height. Similar things apply to animals and bugs as well, because the kind of insects that I’ve seen on a cold, high mountain area are very different from what I usually see in lower areas.

Winter critters

Winter critters

Winter critters

Winter critters

I’ve also noticed that spiders in that area are much smaller than at ground level.

Winter critters

Winter critters

Winter critters

All of these were smaller than my thumb, while some of spiders that I see in the more “jungley” areas can be the size of my full, open hand.

This butterfly was a more familiar sight, though:

Winter critters

Winter flower

In a separate post I’ll include the really huge pics with the mountain view. I always try to make separate entries to help smartphone users.

All these semi-macro shots were taken with olympus e-m10mkII and Oly 12-50mm lens.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

