Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Taipei 101 Fireworks

Taipei 101 Fireworks

Taipei 101 Fireworks

Taipei 101 Fireworks

Happy new year! 新年快樂 !

Last night was my first time  attending the Taipei 101 Fireworks show. I was lucky enough to find a great location in front of the building!

The weather was nice and sky was mostly clear, with no rain in sight. This was amazing compared to the torrential rain that ruined new year’s eve in Yilan county.

Many people reccommend heading to the Elephant Trail mountain around Taipei to get the view of the whole city from high ground. Another option is the river North of the 101, around Minqian bridge. One of my wife’s coworkers was near the 101 and she invited us to join there, and I’m definitely glad we accepted the invitation. What a great spot!

There are more photos here: https://www.flickr.com/photos/107755637@N06/with/31213353943/

As usual, I’ll not link every image here to help smartphone readers. Some of the pics are 10+mb each.

All pics were taken with my Canon 6D, 17-40mm L lens and a Mini-Pro tripod. I wish I brought my larger tripod with me, but my original plan was to walk to the river and take pics from there. I was not expecting to have anyone in front of me at the river banks, so the short tripod saved me a lot of weight in the backpack. Unfortunately, the spot in front of 101 was crowded with people. In order to get some higher ground I placed it on a concrete decorations and operated it with my smartphone. Not ideal, but everything turned out well.

Next year I’d like to see the show from the mountains. It would be a great occasion to bring some camping gear, find a good scenic spot and enjoy there the whole day while preparing some barbeque.

In 2017 I’ll start to work on my GoFundMe project. Any help will be greatly appreciated, as it will take away a lot of time from my full time occupation.

https://funds.gofundme.com/dashboard/2czw6wqk

 

 

 

 

 

