Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Winter Flowers

Winter in Taiwan is not as cool as our neighbors Japan and Korea, but December and January can have some fairly fresh days. Last year we even had a day of snow in Yilan, a rare sighting!

Winter Flowers

A few warm days allowed some flowers to wake up from a rice field near home. These flowers will be gone long before the harvest season, so a few bees enjoyed the warm sunny day and decided to have a nice meal.

Winter Flowers

Winter Flowers

All these pics were taken with the old Canon 90-300 f4.5/5.6 . It’s really not a very good lens, but for the 30$ (more or less) that I spent I can’t complain.

Winter Flowers

Winter Flowers

 

Winter Flowers

I even brought with me the Raynox 250, but handheld it’s just too hard to use. Results are a bit fuzzy.

Winter Flowers

Winter Flowers

Winter Flowers

It was nice to enjoy spending some time between colored flowers months ahead of Spring. Warm days in Winter are fairly common in Taiwan, but finding so many flowers just few hundreds meters from home is a rare event.

This month I’m planning to upgrade my 15 years old 90-300mm lens with the new Canon 70-300 mkII. I noticed that when “fooling around” with either my Canon or M43 kit I often take pics in that focal range. It’s pretty silly to have a fairly expensive modern full frame camera and stick and old, cheap, bad lens on it. I bought the 90-300mm lens because I was waiting for Canon to refresh the 70-300. I used the first version of that lens for a while but found it to be pretty mediocre. The new version is supposed to be an improvement over that one, and miles ahead of the 90-300.

I still have a place in my heart for my two really old lenses, the 90-300 and 28-80. I bought them for next to nothing and they allowed me to get some pics I do like, so even afetr upgrading I won’t get rid of them. Before I purchased those lenses, they spent many years in a drybox or in a drawer, just sitting there and doing nothing. No matter what, I’ll keep them with me and bring them for a ride every now and then. As long as they work, they deserve a chance.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

