Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Rice Field Dog at sunset

I know, I know. this lens sucks. For anything beyond 85mm I need to use the old Canon 90-300mm lens, and this kind of cheap full-plastic lens doesn’t age well.

Rice Field Dog at sunset

While the autofocus is not bad at all, contrast, clarity and sharpness are terrible.

Rice Field Dog at sunset

I took these images at ISO 1600, which is usually a non-issue for my Canon 6D, but the mdoerate high ISO combined with a really bad lens remove all details in the subject. When viewed at 100%, these pictures seem as if they were taken with a point & shoot camera or a smartphone.

Rice Field Dog at sunset

Good news is: this month or in February (right after Chinese new year) I’ll replace a couple of my old lenses with some modern Canon L glass.

As in one of my previous posts, this is one of the homeless dogs living in the rice fields near home. He was all by himself and he was enjoying some leftover chicken wings. This is a dog I’ve never approached before and he was a bit scared of me, but after calling him:”GOOD DOGGIE” a couple of times he let me take some pictures without running away. He spent so much time staring at me, he was more interested in me than I was in him.

