Tags

, , , ,

I had some shopping to do in Taipei. I was looking for a new pair of headphones to replace my broken Denon, as well as a new LED light for my home studio. Unortunately, the “mostly sunny” forecast from Weather Underground turned out to be a complete fail.

Daahn Park, Taipei city

I had a walk in Daan park, the local equivalent of the more famous Central Park. It’s a really massive green area surrounded by skyscrapers. It feels nice to have a walk in such a park, enjoying some shade and being surrounded by flowers and people bringing their dogs around.

Daahn Park, Taipei city

In the center of the park there was a group of 10+ people with extremely expensive photography gear that was waiting for something. I have no idea what they were doing. I could easily recognize some long telezoom lenses, usually required for birds in flight. I had a look around and was unable to find any special variety of birds, they all looked like regular city birds. I guess I’ll never know.

Yin-Yang tree

I quite liked this Yin Yang tree.

For most of the day I kept the camera in my bag, though. There were some interesting buildings, but having a completely grey sky as a background is really awful. Even black and white can’t always save a picture.

The shopping was great. I got a pair of Superlux 669 that sound amazing for their price. I’m still in the process of adjusting them because out of the box the headclamp is way too tight. I then bought an Aputure AL-H198C that will serve me as a powerful LED light at home. I previously bought their pocketable Amaran model and loved it. The AL-H198C is still easy to carry around but not as pocket-friendly.

Next will be the struggle for my next lens. I’m currently debating between:

a) Canon 70-200 f4 L : would be great for events and it’s reasonably light

b) Canon 70-300 f4/5.6 L : a bit heavier and with a darker aperture, but an extra 100mm can be great for surfers, wildlife and sports

c) Canon 70-300 mkII: lighter and cheaper than the previous two and with an extra 100mm compared to the first one, but much inferior optically

The struggle is real.

 

 

 

