Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Kingfisher

Mandatory background music to appreciate this post:

Lontan Lake ( which sounds INCRESDIBLY SIMILAR to “Dragon Soup”) is a very convenient location for me to enjoy a short bicycle trip then fool around a lake and take some pics.

Kingfisher

It’s still early in the season for flowers and weird/huge insects, but birds are available all year long. These first two pics show a Kingfisher resting on a tree while scanning the lake below. It’s amazing to see how similar the Kingfisher in Taiwan looks compared to the European one. They’re the same kind of bird, but considering the distance I was expeting them to look somehow different.

I’m no bird expert, so I have no idea what most of these are. I can recognize some cranes and, OF COURSE, the Ibis. I mean, my nickname is Random IBIS. Even if the origin of that nickname has nothing to do with the bird, I simply have to know what they look like. There are some Ibis (Ibiss? Ibises? Ibsisai?) in Taiwan, but I couldn’t find any by the lake. I often see them around rice fields. The bird in the image above MAY BE an Egret, which is the same family as Ibis birds, but it was a bit far away so I honestly can’t tell.

While I was resting under a tree, waiting to spot birds flying around, a bird landed on the tree right next to me:

Landing

Landing

Landing

Landing

Landing

Landing

Seconds after finding a comfortable position on the branch, he dropped a deuce the size of a BigMac. Nature is always amazing.

There are more pics on my Flickr page:

https://www.flickr.com/photos/107755637@N06/with/32847089714/

This was my first proper outing with the Canon 70-300 L lens. 300mm is a bit short for birds (all these images are cropped pretty heavily) and the 6D’s autofocus system is not ideal for the job, but I managed to take some pics I like. Other lenses would be better for birds in flight, such as ne of the 150-600 zooms from Tamron/Sigma for the extra reach, or Canon’s 100-400mkII. Unofortunately they’re quite bulky and heavy, and the Canon is also painfully expensive. For general use I’ll gladly stick with the 70-300 L, and I hope that one day Canon will release a cheap 200-500 or similar lens.

 

 

