Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

In the Luodong Sport Park there’s a family of squirrels that always hangs around in the same area. A few days ago I went to that park to see how they were doing. They’re usually very active in Spring, and I thought it would have been a good occasion to test my Canon 70-300 L that I purchased last month.

I went to their traditional location and didn’t find any. I wandered around a bit but they were nowhere to be found. I was about to call it a day, afterall I already took many cool pics of birds and flowers, but luckily on my way back to the bicycle I found them in a completely different area the park, near a fish pond.

Not exactly squirrel food, but it will do

Not exactly squirrel food, but it will do

That’s a machine for fish food! What are you doing! It’s not squirrel food!

Not exactly squirrel food, but it will do

Not exactly squirrel food, but it will do

Not exactly squirrel food, but it will do

Well, doesn’t matter, had lunch.

I’m always glad to see them doing well. Squirrels are not only very cute, but also highly entertaining. I really love the way they’ll freeze and stay completely motionless for a few seconds, then make a quick movement and change their posture, only to freeze up again. It’s almost like watching a stop-motion animation made of two frames at a time.

Regarding the photos, my 6D is far from being ideal for birds in flight or running squirrels. I had a few missed shots because the only reliable autofocus point is the middle one and any sudden movement to the left or right would take the subject away from it and send the camera focus hunting. The 70-300 L lens though performed great, I’m extremely satisfied about its performance. It was not cheap, but well worth the price.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

