Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Okinawa - Naha

This will be my first post sharing my pictures and experienc from a recent trip to Okinawa. I visited the island almost all around it and have hundreds of pictures to process, so I’ll upload them by location.

Okinawa - Naha

My first stop was the city of Naha – 那霸, which is the first stop for basically everyone since that’s where the airport is located. My very first day…well, half-day, was rather uneventful, mainly because my alarm clock was at 3.30 AM in order to catch a morning flight.

Okinawa - Naha

Okinawa - Naha

Okinawa - Naha

Okinawa - Naha

Okinawa - Naha

Naha is the most tourism-oriented city in Okinawa. It’s packed full of hotels, shopping malls, whole streets full of stores selling all sort of gadgets etc etc.

Transportation in Naha is ok-ish. The monorail does a great job connecting different parts of the city, but if you want to explore Naha a bit more in depth you need to either rely on many bus trips or rent a motorbike.

I decided not to spend too much time in Naha because I was more interested in the rest of the island, so I didn’t plan a long stop in the city.

After a stroll around some shopping malls to enjoy the current extremely low value of the Japanese Yen, for dinner I headed to a restaurant that is well regarded both from locals and tourists.

Okinawa - Naha

Okinawa - Naha

Okinawa - Naha

Free snack! Fresh mussels cooked in soup, offered to every customer.

Okinawa - Naha

Pan seared oysters with cheese.

Okinawa - Naha

Mandatory sashimi platter with Orion beer (which is made in Okinawa). I liked the sashimi a lot, but here in Taiwan most restaurants tend to cut thicker slices of fish, which is something I definitely prefer.

Okinawa - Naha

Okinawa - Naha

Egg budin with mushroom and mussels.

Okinawa - Naha

I felt very jelous of that girl’s drink, though I’m not sure how well a cocktail would fit traditional Japanese food?

Right after dinner I headed back to the hotel and crashed on the bed.

In the next post I’ll show my trip to the South-East of the island

Technical note: I travelled the whole island by motorbike, so I decided to leave at home as much gear as possible. I only carried with me Canon 6D, 17-40 f4 L, 70-300 L and the small 50mm f1.8 STM. At the last moment I decided to ditch the tripod and I’m glad I did. Considering how little I used it, even the 50mm could have stayed home.

Even with so little gear with me, carrying an 8kg backpack around for 5 days was really bad for my back. For this kind of long trip I should definitely consider investing some money in a smaller photography kit, either a high-end compact camera or a smaller APS-C dslr and a couple of lenses. I’d be really glad to reduce the weight of my kit from nearly 3kg to somewhere below 1kg.  The bare minimum for an APSC kit would be to use the 10-18 and 55-250 STM lenses, and adding a body would sum up to 1.2/1.5kg. An Eos-M6 with similar lenses would be slightly lighter at around 1kg, but a fair bit more expensive.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

