Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Nomzilla

In one of my previous posts I mentioned the fact that I lost a day of shooting in Longtan Lake due to a corrupted memory card. Well, I got the change to go back there and spend some time taking pics. The lost images are still gone, but at least I still got some nice shots.

Nomzilla

I often see squirrels strolling around, but this was the first time seeing one having a wax apple snack. I never noticed that all around Longtan Lake it’s full of wax apple trees, so there must be plenty of squirrels having a party around there.

Longtan Lake - 龍潭大池 - Yilan county - 宜蘭縣

Longtan Lake - 龍潭大池 - Yilan county - 宜蘭縣

Longtan Lake - 龍潭大池 - Yilan county - 宜蘭縣

Plenty of birds flying on the lake.  I had the chance to see a Kingfisher hunting, it was INSANE. I could barely keep my eyes on it, let alone the camera. Now I know why people who are into that kind of photography spend a lot of cash in top-of-the-line cameras and lenses. Some birds are really tough to photograph, so I’m veryglad that a few months back I got the chance to take the pic of a Kingfisher resting on a tree.

Kingfisher

 

Longtan Lake - 龍潭大池 - Yilan county - 宜蘭縣

Giant spiders the size of a hand are everywhere during summer. I’d never dare to approach them for a close up macro shot, so a 300mm lens that can focus reasonably close is pretty much necessary.

Longtan Lake - 龍潭大池 - Yilan county - 宜蘭縣

Longtan Lake - 龍潭大池 - Yilan county - 宜蘭縣

Longtan Lake - 龍潭大池 - Yilan county - 宜蘭縣

No idea what they feed on, and I’m not even sure I want to know…

Anyway, this was a quick trip to one of my favorite lakes in the region. I was very upset about all the lost images from my previous ride there, so I really wanted to make up for that. The hungry squirrel was a bonus, as I didn’t notice any previously.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

